Only way to disable this is to open about:config and change some value. Why this has no dismiss button?
There is couple more settings that are on by default and i hate those; but mostly those are subjective. However who wants 80px long “SIGN IN SO WE STORE YOUR BOOKMARKS, HISTORY IN OUR SERVERS” stuff on their screen?


Firefox sync is end to end encrypted by the way: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/sync
It is technically also self hostable, but I gave up when I was investigating. Hosting the sync server itself wasn’t too bad, but I couldn’t figure out how to also self host the account server, which is also needed to have the sync process entirely based on my own infrastructure.
Urgh, I was considering setting up a self hosted Firefox sync. I don’t use syncing at all currently but thought it might be useful.
I didn’t know the account system was a separate dependency. Hosting that seems a bit of burden so I think I will just stay not using sync.
I use syncing through Mozilla’s servers. Part of what killed my motivation for a self hosted setup was realizing that Mozilla sync is e2ee.
Second that. I gave up also, and thought that mozilla could’ve made that part easier - if they wanted to.